Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from ashemountaintimes.com.

Elliott, Domske named Ashe’s top athletes

Originally published: Jun. 1, 2013
Last modified: Jun. 1, 2013

Steve Behr

Michael Elliott was named Ashe High School’s Male Athlete of the Year, and Aspen Domske was named the Female Athlete of the Year by the school’s athletic department.

Wes Rousseau was named the athletic department’s Husky Coach of the Year. Rousseau coaches boys’ and girls’ soccer at the school. The awards were announced at the spring banquet.

Elliott played football and wrestled for the Huskies. Domske, who set the Ashe career goal scoring record, was also named the girls’ soccer team’s Most Valuable Player.

Rousseau led the girls’ soccer team to the second round of the state 4-A playoffs. The Huskies finished 15-4-1, 14-2 in the Mountain Valley Conference.


Ashe County’s athletic department handed out awards during its spring banquet.

2013 Spring Awards

Baseball – JV

Most Valuable – Joseph Lowder

Most Improved – Nathaniel Johnson

Coach’s Award – Bradley Richie

Best Offensive Player – Hunter Barnes


Baseball – Varsity

Most Valuable – Carson Knight

Most Improved – Cody Mayle

Coach’s Award – Jackson Sloan

Golden Glove – Joe Richardson

Best Batting Average – Carson Knight


Softball – JV

Most Valuable Player– Samantha Bowlin

Best Hitter – Avery Taylor

Coach’s Award – Olivia Barr


Softball – Varsity

Most Valuable Offensive Player – Sloan Elliott

Most Valuable Defensive Player – Brianna McCoy

Coach’s Award – Mackenzi Wallace

Coach’s Award – Anna Wooten

Golden Glove – Olivia Thore

Best Hitter – Hannah Blevins


Men’s Golf

Most Valuable – Tucker Goodman

Most Improved – Zach Lawrence

Best First Year – Abel Warner


Men’s Tennis

Most Valuable – Sam Bowers

Most Improved – Jordan Spell

Coach’s Award – Lucas Zeller


Women’s Soccer – JV

Most Valuable – Morgan Hudler

Most Improved – Elaina Bassett

Coach’s Award – Maggie Witherspoon


Women’s Soccer – Varsity

Most Valuable – Aspen Domske

Most Improved – Bridgette Wilson

Coach’s Award – Destiny Shepherd

Best Defense – Olivia Brettschneider

Best Offense – Aspen Domske


Year awards selected by ACHS Coaching Staff

Husky Coach of the Year – Wes Rousseau

Male Athlete of the Year – Micheal Elliott (football and wrestling)

Female Athlete of the Year – Aspen Domske (volleyball, soccer and track)


Women’s Track

Most Valuable – Erin Bingham

Best Distance Runner – Victoria Reed

Coach’s Award – Amber Hare

Best Thrower – Madison Little

Best Jumper – Aspen Domske

Most Improved – Hailey Richardson


Men’s Track

Coach’s Award – Zach Outen

Most Improved –Austin Bennett

Most Valuable -- Jacob Blevins

Best Thrower – Jake Woods

Best Distance Runner – Gareth Berry

For more information and stories, see Ashe Mountain Times.